Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Care and Feeding of Teenaged Boys

Hi.  I’m Marla.  Gimme a Minute.  No really, I’m only going to take a minute of your time. 

I want  to talk to you about the care and feeding of teenage boys. 

When my son turned 16, I turned to my friends with older sons and asked for their advice.  How could I keep him safe?  What did I need to tell him about life?  Why do 16 year old boys smell so funny? 

Overall, my friends were full of sage advice, but one comment stood over and above the rest.  Keep him well fed.  It truly does not matter what.  Fruit.  Vegetables.  Junk Food.  They eat it all like a new Hoover sucks up dirt in the commercials.

It seems like teenage boys are like bears just before hibernation.  They eat without tasting, swallow without chewing.   Then they collapse in front of the TV, the computer, the X-Box, a video, or with their IPOD headphones on and go into an afternoon coma…just deep enough to not hear their mothers ask them to take out the garbage or set the table for dinner, and shallow enough to show up at the dinner table just as the meal is being served.   My son is 17, a junior in high school.  One more year until he graduates and goes off to his life as a young adult in college or working or traveling or something.  Sometimes, I think I’d rather just watch him lay there in a coma.  I’m Marla.  Thanks for listening.  See ya!

Leave a Reply

