Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Public Parking Issues at WWU

Hi.  I’m Marla.  Gimme a Minute.  No really, I’m only going to take a minute of your time.  I want to talk to you about Western Washington University. 

I love living in a college town.  I love the hustle and bustle of  young adults as they shop for clothes, go to local restaurants, hang around bars they can’t get into.  I love the college events, the art displays, the music, the sports,  the theatre.  I appreciate that Western rents out its theatre and gym space to other local and non-local organizations so that more people can be involved.  It’s great to be at an event at Western. 

If you can find a place to park.    

When there’s a concert or a show that goes on at 8 in the PAC, the only places to park are either up a poorly lit steep hill, if it’s even been reserved,  or a 15 minute hike across campus, which doesn’t bode well if you are wearing concert attire.  And if you are there for some all-day sporting event , you better not be watching your kid’s match when the parking police come by when your meter is expired.

I mean, how much trouble would it be to have open and free parking at night and on weekends?  It’s not like there are many if any night classes going on.  As far as late night on campus studying goes, most students live on campus or close to it anyway.  I bet the neighbors on south hill would love this idea, don’t you think?

I’m Marla.  Thanks for listening.  See ya!

Leave a Reply

