Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

The Odd Couple

Hi. I’m Marla. Gimme a Minute. No really, I’m only going to take
a minute. I want to talk to you about housekeeping.

You know, Pants on the Ground, Dishes in the Sink, Hair in the Tub.
What’s your threshold for clutter, dirty dishes, piles of clean and
dirty laundry. For most typical teenagers, I’m expecting it’s
pretty high. But what about you adults?

Have you ever surprised a friend at their home and when they come to
the door, they open it just barely enough so you can almost see their
whole head, and not past it, because they are so ashamed of the mess.
You know these Felix types. All they need to do to make it pristine
is push in the chairs under the dining room table.

Then there’s the friend, who like Oscar, throws away nothing…box
tops, can tabs, plastic water bottles. The amount of space they
survive in is barely livable because of all the junk.

What happens when these worlds collide? If a Felix moves in with an
Oscar. Whose way wins out? Clean and tidy or Messy and cluttered?
I’ve seen the clean freak follow people around with a towel, broom
and dustpan. I’ve also seen Oscar types take perfectly folded towels
off the rack and just leave them on the sink. Of course, these are
extremes, but you get my drift.

All I know is super clean takes work from everyone in the house. And
time. And energy. And if you live with an oscar, hire a housekeeper
like felix.

I’m Marla. Thanks for listening. See ya!

Leave a Reply

