Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Manners

Mind your Ps and Qs

Hi.  I’m Marla.  Gimme a Minute.  No really, I’m only going to take a minute.  I want to talk to you about manners. 

Of course there are the very basic please and thank you that seem to have gone the way of the corded phone.  Everyone always ordering everyone else around.  No gratitude.  Wouldn’t you feel better if when someone asked you to do something they said please?  And  if you did something for someone else, wouldn’t you appreciate being appreciated with a Thank You? 

But It’s not just the common courtesies of please and thank you that are missing.  It’s patience.  Parking patience.  Driving around in a parking lot, looking for a spot, sometimes waiting for THE spot, only to have someone impatiently skirt around me and slip into my spot.  It’s ok, I’m young, I can walk…

And what about elevators?  People, I, should be allowed to get OFF before any of you GET ON.  Is that so hard to understand?  I mean really? 

And the last thing I’m going to mention is cell phone manners.  OK, I know I can be guilty of this but I’m going to say it anyway.  I don’t want to listen to you talk on the phone.  I don’t want to know what you are having for dinner, I don’t want to know what the doctor said, I don’t want to hear about your job.  I don’t know you.  And from what you are saying on the phone, you might want to keep it a bit more private. 

Please?  Thank you! 

 I’m Marla.  Thanks for listening.  See ya!

Leave a Reply

