Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Facebook Etiquette – Poking

Hi. I’m Marla. Gimme a Minute. No really, I’m only going to take a minute of your time. This is one of four segments about Facebook etiquette.

I want to talk to you about Facebook Poking Etiquette. I’ve already admitted I’m a Facebook addict. Who better than I to point out what’s rude and what’s polite when it comes to Facebook poking? No one. So let’s get to it.
Poking may have been one of the first applications Facebook offered. You press the “poke” button, on your Friend’s page. Sort of saying “hi” in Facebook. Your friend gets a notification he or she has been poked, and is given the option to poke back. About half the time they do.
It’s rude not to say hi back, right?
And so the poking war begins.

Shortly after, Facebook might ask you if you want to Superpoke your friend. I’m not sure what this means, but to me, it is equally annoying. This can go back and forth and gets completely out of hand. Someone has to stop.
There is no reason why you must continue this behavior. Do what I did. Ignore the poke. It’s ok. Or Block the poke forever so that your friend or any one else who feels moved to poke you, just can’t.
So please don’t poke me. Or Superpoke me. I don’t like it. If you poke me I will ignore it. If you want to say hi, pick up the phone.
I’m Marla. Thanks for listening. See ya!

Leave a Reply

