Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

The Four Letter Word

Hi.  I’m Marla.  Gimme a Minute.  Really, I’m only gonna take a minute. I want to talk to you about  what not to eat.  Yeah, it’s that four letter word we all love to hate. Diet. 

You ever notice the first three letters of the word are D  I  E.   That’s an old joke, but not far from the truth. 

My parents put me on my first diet when I was 9 years old.  Until then I didn’t think I had a weight problem.  Of all the times I listened to my parents.   They were very encouraging.   Lots of positive reinforcement.  Yes Marla, you do look fat in that dress.

There are so many diets out there….weight watchers, south beach, jenny craig, belly fat, nutrisytems,  the grapefruit diet, the elimination diet, the vegan, vegetarian, and the diet you found on the internet that no one else has done and stay away from my celery and strawberry diet.  Basically, Eat less, move more. 

So, many years and two children later, I am, like many people my age, struggling to GET in shape, and stay in shape.  I’m exercising regularly.   I drink more water.    I try to avoid foods I know that are in the ‘a person who wears the size clothing you wear would not wear that size if you didn’t eat that’ column and focus more on fresh vegetables and fruit. I am lucky that I like almost all fruits and vegetables.  And it’s almost summer and veges and fruit are plentiful.  Chocolate  is a vegetable, right? 

I’m Marla.  Thanks for listening.  See ya.

Leave a Reply

