Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Things I Hate – Cilantro

Hi. I’m Marla. Gimme a Minute. Really, I’m only gonna take a minute. I want to talk to you about foods I hate.

And foods you hate. And food you and I might not agree on whether to love or hate them. Here is my confession. I hate cilantro.

Woe to the person who tries to sneak cilantro into my food. I am repulsed by the taste, odor and aroma of this nasty herb. I know it’s irrational, like my distaste for all of the music of Ravel, but I can’t help myself.

I love Mexican food, Thai food, Chinese dim sum. They can all be ruined for me with even the tiniest bit of cilantro added. No one seems to add a tiny bit. It’s always poured all over or mixed in, so there‘s never any possible way to pick it out. Besides, it’s already leaked its poison flavor all over the other flavors of the food.

I like normal parsley. I like spicy food. It’s not about that. There is just something disgusting and vile to me about the essence of cilantro. I am, in a way, emotionally allergic to Cilantro.

I accept your desire to eat and digest this disgusting piece of green ick, however that does not mean I will buy you a bunch at the grocery store and put it into my cart and pay for it at the checkout. The thought of it makes me break out in yucky.

I’m Marla. Thanks for listening. See ya.

Leave a Reply

