Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Going Out To Eat

Hi. I’m Marla. Gimme a Minute. Really, I’m only gonna take a minute. I want to talk to you about eating out.

There are lots of great restaurants in Whatcom County.

Neighborhood kids work in the kitchen, wait tables, or wash dishes. Which makes them all family friendly right? Well, not so much…

It’s not unusual here in Bellingham to see families with children, eating quietly (or not so quietly) at Nimbus, Pepper Sisters and Giuseppe’s and everything in between.

I remember as a kid, going to dinner at Mickey D’s was fine dining. There were five kids in my family, so my dad would have needed to take out a second mortgage to feed us at a place like the Oyster Bar.

I’lI occasionally go out to eat in California, and, we invariably pick a place that does not accept reservations. I am always amazed at the number of people willing to wait for an hour or two to sit down in at a nice restaurant in San Francisco or Los Angeles. I guess if you know what kind of food you are going to be hungry and in the mood for, two hours before you get to eat it, it’s ok. I bet if you’re trying to eat at a nice place in New York you have to get there first thing Monday for a Friday night dinner. Throw a family dinner into the mix, and you’d better order a pizza while you are waiting in line. I’m Marla. Thanks for listening. See ya.

Leave a Reply

