Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Things I hate – Reality TV

Hi. I’m Marla. Gimme a Minute. No really, I’m only going to take a minute of your time. I want to talk to you about Reality TV shows.

 I HATE THEM. The ones about dating, the makeover ones, changing lifestyles, talent searches, all with the drama, oh man, the drama!!! As if these people “forgot” the cameras were on.
You know what I’m talking about… How did we go from ‘This is your life’ to ‘Keeping up with the Kardashians?’ ‘ Candid Camera’ turned into the ‘Jamie Kennedy Experiment’. ‘Beat the clock’ and ‘truth or consequences’ are the model to ‘Deal or no deal?’ The ‘Original Amateur Hour’ with Geritol being its main sponsor gave way to ‘Pussycat Dolls Present, Girlicious’.

Now the Dating shows have been around since the first one showed up on Japanese TV in 1973, and with the number of singles on a steady incline, only to be matched with the high volume of these dating shows, it’s clear to me it’s a big two thumbs up it’s working!!
Lifestyle change shows make me crazy, like Wife swap, SuperNanny and Extreme Celebrity Detox. Really? Explain to me why I need to see that? Bad people behaving badly saying bad things? And finally, documentary type shows make me want to shoot my TV.

Way back in 1964 we began nosing into the lives of some innocent English children, and every seven years since then, the English filmmakers follow these now-adults around to see how successful they are. And here we watch the Real Housewives of New Jersey. Same thing.

Philo Farnsworth must be so proud.

I’m Marla. Thanks for listening. See ya!

Leave a Reply

