Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Hair

Coming up next on experience Northwest. Gimme a Minute and answer this. Do you think my hairdresser is mad at me?

Hi. I’m Marla. Gimme a Minute. No really, I’m only going to take a minute of your time. I want to talk to you about getting your hair cut. Ok, truly, about getting my hair cut. If this isn’t your first time here, you might notice that My hair is a bit, um, shorter.
When I told my hairdresser I wanted him to even up the back, his first snip removed about 4 inches of hair. And then he kept cutting.
I was in shock for a few moments, well, for days after.
Which brings me to the issue of the importance of hair. Lots of people have it. And lots don’t. Even India Arie has a Song called “I am not my hair.” I have women friends and family who don’t color their hair and go naturally gray. I also have men friends and family who are, otherwise follically challenged. Although, when I complain about my hair being gray, or frizzy or otherwise annoying, the men say, “at least you have hair.”
When a female acquaintance of mine was going through chemo, some of her friends, both women and men, shaved their heads in support of her losing her hair. What a cool thing I thought. I remember her response to that. She said she was touched, but she said she wouldn’t have done it. I thought that was interesting. And no, I did not shave my head. I thought about it though.
So back to my topic. My hair. I’m lucky. It’ll grow back. And then maybe I’ll cut it again.
I’m Marla. Thanks for listening. See ya!

Leave a Reply

