Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Things I Hate – Karaoke

Hi I’m Marla. Gimme a Minute. Really only a minute. I want to talk to you about Karaoke.

There are people who can sing and people who should listen.

Remember that movie “My Best Friend’s Wedding” when Cameron Diaz sings really really badly and the bar erupts in supportive applause? Well that only happens when you look like Cameron Diaz, or maybe Deb Slater.

But Deb can really sing so I can only imagine the crowd would go absolutely wild.

And there are people like me who need a little liquid courage to sing at karaoke. We are the people who should never sing karaoke. And let’s face it. Not everyone should sing. Alcohol does not make anyone song better. it only makes you care less that you are terrible. There is so much peer pressure. Everyone wants everyone they are with to get up and do a song.
I will tell you my method of getting out of singing.

Bring a karaoke newbie. Someone who has never been. But make sure you know they can sing. Everyone you’re with will focus their attention on your guest to get them to try it . You know this type. Karaoke Pushers.

It’ll take your guest a while to find the perfect song. Your friend will most likely be one of the last people to get up, and, when they sing well, which they will. And, by the time you and everyone else you are with has congratulated them on their rousing success, the night will be over. You are off the hook.. I dodged another karaoke bullet. Whew.

I’m Marla thanks for listening. See ya.

Leave a Reply

