Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Thanksgiving

Hi. I’m Marla. Gimme a Minute. I want to talk to you Thanksgiving. 

I was going to talk about the holiday foods, But NOT EVERYONE likes pumpkin pie. I didn’t want to have this subject open another jar of cilantro.
What else screams Thanksgiving to me? Football? Not so much. I watch football three days a year, and if it’s not the Big Game, New Year’s Day, or Superbowl, I’m not interested.
I’m embarrassed to admit that when my kids were younger I spent a good part of Thanksgiving day poring over the newspaper ads for the Black Friday sales. Did my kids really need that board game at ToysRUs? Did they need to own one more CD or DVD on sale at Best Buy? How many pairs of Fred Meyer socks can a child wear in one month?
Yes, I have been one of THOSE people in line. Oh, it started innocently enough. The first time, my Friend Kaci said Hey Marla, let’s get up at 7 before the store opens at 8. She said, It WILL BE FUN. The line was crazy long when we got there. The next year, we got there earlier… 6am. And the line was LONGER. After that, it was 5am every year.. BUT, I drew the line and never camped out in line. NEVER.
Now my kids are older, but my brother and sister have young children. After Thanksgiving dinner, I give them a call, tell them I love them, and give them my shopping list.
I’m Marla. Thanks for listening. See ya!

Leave a Reply

