Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Role Models

Coming up next on Experience Northwest. Celebrity Shmooze, Gender Gap, Coffee Talk, KAFE Kritters, and Brain Strain. All that and Music. Monday Through Friday. Gimme a Minute to talk about Dave and Shari in the morning on the radio.

Hi I’m Marla. Gimme a Minute. I want to talk to you about role models. When I was growing up, mine were not movie stars or sports heroes. My role models were the people I spent almost every waking hour with. ..The Radio disc jockeys. .. Starting in elementary school, through high school, and even when I found an internship at my college radio station, the radio woke me up in the morning and it stayed on until I fell asleep at night… Of course I turned the radio off during class….I listened and learned from Cousin Brucie in New York, Charlie Tuna in Southern California, Alex Bennett and Dave Morey in San Francisco. That was also where I heard a female radio personality for the first time. I moved to the Pacific Northwest and hit a land mine of amazing smart women on the radio. Now I listen to Dave and Shari in the Morning on KAFE 104.1 Monday through Friday from 5:30 to 10. When my kids were in elementary school, Dave and Shari visited their classrooms. Dave and Shari were with me when the towers went down in New York, they help the literacy council every year, they promote adoptable pets from the animal shelter. Ok, once Shari killed a random duck in the road, but she swears it was an accident. They promote and support endless amounts of non-profits in Whatcom and Skagit counties. They are a gift. A gift that keeps on giving. I’m Marla. Thanks for listening. And Thanks Dave and Shari for all you do for all of us. See ya.

Leave a Reply

