Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Season’s Greetings

Hi. I’m Marla. Gimme a minute. I want to talk to you about how long it took me to come up with this minute. Days. You wanna know why? It’s because it’s December. I want to talk about it but it’s hard to be politically correct in a politically incorrect world.

It’s because I’m one of those people who might not “observe” the month the same way you do.

At the risk of offending you…I’ll tell you about some of the activities I might participate in during this month. Here’s what I do. I clean my house. I sometimes go to the store. I sometimes go to the post office. There might be a dinner party ….we could possibly have friends come over, we cook family recipes, tell stories, sometimes there’s singing..no, not karaoke.

There might be chocolate.

And sometimes, I don’t even wait until December. I might start this activity in November!!

There are things about this time of year that make it way more intense for me than I like. You wanna know like what? It’s The traffic, the stores are crowded, people can be cranky, and it’s so close to the end of the year, everybody trying to get into the dentist while their kids are out of school. Like the world exploded with people.

But there is an up side to the explosion. Sometimes, you run into an old friend you haven’t seen in a while, and you get a chance to say “season’s greetings. “ I’m Marla. Thanks for listening. See ya.

One response to “Season’s Greetings

  1. Spike December 28, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    I’m with you!! And I’m sorry, but what is with the must-be-merry-Christmas freaks out there?!? I had one card arrive that has the annual form letter in it that start out “Merry Christmas (NOT HAPPY HOLIDAYS!)… ” I personally often say happy holidays, or season’s greetings, out of respect to all the different faiths out there. I personally like to celebrate YULE! And I don’t get all upset if someone wishes me a merry christmas or happy Hannukah! Thanks! It’s all spreading the love, right?

Leave a Reply

