Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

25 years and counting….

Coming up next on Experience Northwest.  Gimme a Minute to tell you about 25 years.

Hi.  I’m Marla.  Gimme a Minute.  I want to talk to you about weddings.  It seems like every month, it’s the season to get engaged or married..which means there are year round anniversaries.

I got married to my best friend on January 19, 1986.  Yep, 25 years ago.  For those of you newly married, I could tell you that every day has been as wonderful as the day I happily said “I Do.”  But I .  don’t want to lie on TV.

In 25 years, We produced  two children,  who in turn produced their own joys and challenges, friends and toy clutter, and lots of noise.  There were groceries and dishes and laundry and bills and homework  and PTA meetings and back to school  and summer vacation and groceries and dishes and laundry and bills.

I think when they said “wedded bliss” they really meant “blisters.”  Having watched my parents survive the marriage roller coaster for 47 years with its ups and downs, my stubborn and competitive nature kept me on the ride when it got bumpy.

So like the story of the turtle and the hare, we hung in there, and slow and steady seems to have won the race.  We have come full circle.  Our children are grown now.  There are less groceries to be bought, less laundry to be done, and I can’t remember the last time I helped with homework.

I’m older too, and I’m wiser and because of that,  look at the trouble I’m in now..  I’m Marla.  Thanks for Listening.  See ya.

2 responses to “25 years and counting….

  1. Connie Thomas January 18, 2011 at 10:00 am

    Marla — Congratulations on your 25th !!!! Doesn’t that huge number boggle your mind ? Hope you will really enjoy these years of getting back to (mostly) just the two of you. I am finding that it is just fine 🙂

  2. Spike January 18, 2011 at 10:36 am

    Trouble indeed! You two are amazing together… and remarkable couple for others to be inspired by. You inspire me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

