Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Community

Hi. I’m Marla. Gimme a Minute. I want to talk to you about community.

It never ceases to amaze me when people step up to financially and emotionally to support someone they know, or even someone they don’t know, just because it’s the right thing to do. And they do it without any expectations or hidden agenda.

When I first moved here from a big city I won’t name, because most people from here don’t like people from there, I admit I freaked out at the small town-ness of Bellingham and questioned whether I made the right move.

Then I attended my first local fund raiser.

This wasn’t to support a huge national cause, it was for an ordinary person who needed a little financial help, and maybe some emotional support as well. She probably wasn’t ordinary to everyone, but coming from a big city, I never knew of anything like that for just a “regular” person.

Even now, whenever I attend an event to support someone in my community who’s sick, or is recovering from an accident, or just needs a little something special, I am grateful I can help.

I always feel like I get more than I give.

Being part of a community, getting caught up in the “I want to help any way I can, just because I can,” is what helps makes a place home.

Thank you for everything YOU do to make YOUR place home.

I’m Marla. Thanks for listening. See ya.

Leave a Reply

