Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

The Cinema

Hi. I’m Marla. Gimme a Minute. I wanna talk to you about movies. And films. And the difference between the two. I took a film class in college. We didn’t watch movies, we watched films.

It was the first time I realized those two words classified distinctly different things… both of which could typically be shown at the same movie theatre. Very confusing..

The movies we watched in class were at least 25 years old, and the instructor considered them classics. Aha I thought. Age makes them a film.

But then, one night I went to see what I thought was a Movie with a friend who was in the movie making industry, and as we walked out of the theatre, he said “What a great Film.”

“But wait,” I said, “it’s a new release. How can it be a Film?” We argued about this for a while but at the time, he wasn’t clear about the difference himself.

To this day, no one has been able to clearly characterize the difference to me.

I still believe that Films are what Movies become after 25 years.

Like the 1986 Film classic Karate Kid Part II.

But I have concluded, that based upon the opinion of those more movie savvy than myself, that Films are made to express art, and are not necessarily made to make money, and that Movies are produced for that primary reason….

if you follow that logic, if a Movie doesn’t make money at the box office, you should be able to call the Movie a Film.

I’m Marla. Thanks for listening, see ya.

Leave a Reply

