Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Electronics Envy

Hi I’m Marla.  Gimme a minute.  I wanna talk to you about electronics.

Specifically the IPAD.  I know they’re cool, but truly, why do I need one more piece of electronic hardware.  Especially one I’d need to buy another bag for.

I started off with a cell phone and a planner.  You know, one of those big bulky paper ones that held my phone book, calendar and assorted pieces of paper.  Then I got an IPOD for my music.  Then the refills for the calendar became crazy expensive, so I got a little PDA.

But I still needed the IPOD.

Three pieces of electronics was ANNOYING!!

I was advised repeatedly to get the iphone, I don’t want to pay for internet if I don’t have to.  With my luck the place I’d most need the internet wouldn’t have cell phone service anyway.

I finally bit the bullet and rationalized and got the IPOD touch.  Almost every place has WiFi now.

Now I only have my phone and the Itouch.  And I’m happy.

Truly, the IPAD just looks like the itouch on steroids anyway,  the supersize version.

We talked about getting one but we couldn’t come up with one good reason why we needed it.  We have a laptop for work.  We have a notebook computer for traveling.

The only reason we could come up with to validate our purchase was to maintain our healthy obsession with angry birds.

And there’s just not enough bacon in the game for that.

I’m Marla.  Thanks for listening.  See ya.

2 responses to “Electronics Envy

  1. Spike April 26, 2011 at 11:07 am

    I want the ipad2 so bad! I bypassed the ipad as I knew I could wait and didn’t have the money. Now I’ve moved away from a laptop (since I never carried it anywhere anyway, and leaving it plugged in all the time killed the battery long ago), so I have a mac mini now on my desk for work and personal, and an ipad would be PERFECT for taking with me to do work on the go, take notes at meetings, entertain myself during travels, even check in and provide support to work from anywhere. That’s my goal. Now I just need to scrape up the money to get one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

