Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Patience

Hi.  I’m Marla.  Gimme a Minute.   I want to talk to you about patience.

As in, I have none.  I have no patience for the impatient. 

When I see older or slower people driving, or, in line at the grocery store,  or walking down the street, I have no patience for the people behind them who honk, or rush to get ahead of them, or yell at them to hurry up.  There’s no reason to hurry.  Especially if you’ve planned ahead.  As if anyone needs or wants to get to where we’re all gonna eventually end up.

Yeah, you and I both know where we’re all going.

I also have no patience for stupid.   You know what I’m talking about.

Stupid things like rain in the middle of what was supposed to be my day to work in the garden,  Rubber neckers driving on the freeway and rear-ending another car, because they weren’t paying attention,  a college acceptance letter that arrives in the mail and when I slice the envelope open, the letter gets cut in half.  Those are the kinds of stupid that make me insane.

So in order to practice patience, I have my one tried and true method.  I close my eyes, and take a deep breath.  Usually by the time I’m done, the stupid, unplanned, annoying situation is in the past, and I can go on with my life.

And now you can too.   I’m Marla.  Thanks for listening.  See ya!

Leave a Reply

