Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Customer Service

Hi.  I’m Marla.  Gimme a Minute.  I want to talk to you about customer service.

There’s good customer service and bad customer service.

Good customer service makes me a better customer towards a business, as I tend to return there to spend my time and money.

And I bring my friends with me.

One thing I sometimes like to do after getting exceptionally good service is ask for the manager.  When I tell the manager I received excellent customer service from his or her employee, the look of relief that comes over them is noticeable. It’s as if the invisible protective reflective oh-man-this-one-is-gonna-hurt coat of armor disappears instantly.

And I’ll tell you why.

People take more time to gripe than praise.  For that one compliment, a business might get ten complaints.

Business owners would be smart to listen to customer complaints about bad service, don’t you think?

You know bad service.  When it seems like the person behind the counter can’t move any slower, or asks you to repeat yourself, not because they can’t hear you, but because they’re just not paying attention, because they’re texting or playing angry birds.

Or when the sales person gives you attitude…like they’d rather be doing anything else or being anywhere else other than where they are.  You and I both know there are plenty of people out of work right now who could do that job, better, and with a smile.

So here’s what I say.

Spend your time and money where they treat you right.

I’m Marla, thanks for listening.  See ya!

One response to “Customer Service

  1. Spike May 19, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    Here here! Good customer service starts with a simple smile, please, thank you, caring, efficiency, but goes further into a true art. Where did our society/culture forget all this? I’m totally with you on recognizing and patronizing businesses with outstanding customer service, and I work hard with my staff at Ticket Turtle to provide it every day as well!

Leave a Reply

