Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Busy Busy Busy


Hi.  I’m Marla.  Gimme a Minute.  I want to talk to you about keeping too busy. 

This has been a problem for me for a long time, and I blame it mostly on theatre.

The first time I over committed was almost 30 years ago, I was working full time, I had a new boyfriend, and I decided to stage manage a local theatre production.  For weeks, I’d work all day, run to rehearsal at night, and fit my then boyfriend into the remaining gaps of time.

By opening weekend I cracked.  “I can’t do it all” I said to my friend LeeAnn.  “Yes you can, Marla.” She replied.  It was the curse she placed on me that day that I carry  24/7.   Hmmm…maybe I should blame her….

30 years later, I’m now marred to my then boyfriend.  It amuses him that even if I’m not working on a show, I can fill in the gaps of time of my life with things to do.

If I’m not working on a project, I’m looking for one or, projects find me.

I’ve tried to cut back.  I only work 15 hours a week.  I’m usually there for 20.  I’ve had offers to fill up the other more-than-half of my week with other employment.  I think I could handle it now, but when a window of free time opens up, I’m trying to honor it and let it be.

Unless you need me to do something, just let me know, I’ll fit it in somewhere.

I’m Marla. Thanks for listening.  See ya.

Leave a Reply

