Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

4th of July – Fireworks

Hi. I’m Marla. Gimme a Minute. No really, I’m only going to take
a minute. I want to talk to you about July 4. What do
you think of when you hear those words? Picnics? Parades?
Independence Day? Fireworks?

Two years ago, a local non-profit group sold fireworks in a school
parking lot. I thought it was inappropriate. When I expressed my
concerns, I was told it was a fund raising effort, and the group made
a huge profit from sales. Well, I think that’s stupid logic.
That’s like suggesting non-profits should start selling crack or meth
because hey, they’ll make money.

I support a ban on the sale of fireworks in city limits Fireworks
are all fun and games until someone gets hurt. In the past five
years, 123 firework-related injuries and fires were reported in
Whatcom County. That may not seem like a lot to you, but try telling
that to the kid who was standing in a the crowd when someone
threw a lit m80, blowing off three of his fingers. And what about all
those people who have to medicate their pets, or lock them indoors to
protect them.

I know what you’re thinking….Come on Marla..don’t be such a
spoilsport. It’s one, maybe two days a year…

Look, I’m not trying to stop anyone from safely using fireworks. But
I would bet that nine out of ten regular people would not make the drive
outside the city limits to buy fireworks. This may not totally
eliminate injuries but I think that it’s worth it if it saves three
fingers.

I’m Marla. Thanks for listening. See ya!

Leave a Reply

