Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

My Dog Ate my homework

Hi.  I’m Marla.  Gimme a Minute.  I wanna talk to you about excuses. 

Reasons, understandable or unbelievable, legitimate or lame, real or random.

Late to school or work because you got a flat tire?   Ok, I have to admit that I once called in to work and said it was raining too hard for me to come in.  Full disclosure, I wasn’t even living in the Pacific Northwest at the time.  My boss did not let me off the hook and I got to work, drenched, but employed.

School assignment late because your dog ate your homework?  To this day, I have never seen a dog eat paper.

At least come up with something more clever than that….how about…. while the assignment was printing, I had gone out to deliver food to the homeless, and while I was out,  my apartment was ransacked and my computer and the thumb drive backup were stolen.

My husband teaches at the local University, and it amazes me how the excuses for not doing one’s homework have not improved in creativity.

A little hint here , all you have to do is tell him you have family issues or female problems, and he’ll let you off the hook.  But you didn’t hear that from me.

I’ve been told by friends that my personal excuses have an expiration date.  That is, after a year, I can’t use brain surgery as an excuse for seeming flakey or spacey.  Oh really?  Hmm… I guess that depends who you’re asking.

I’m Marla, thanks for listening.  See ya.

Leave a Reply

