Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

See who you are Dating


Hi. I’m Marla Gimme a Minute. I want to talk to you about what it means to be dating.

This question came up when I was talking to a friend who recently split with a long term boyfriend, who, by her definition, she was seeing. She told me, that meant she was only spending time with him.

So when she brought up the topic, and said she was dating, I thought that meant she was in the market to find someone TO date.

But she said, she actually is dating someone. She’s had three dates with him.

So I asked her if she wasn’t really seeing him. She said no.

So I wondered, what’s the difference between when you’re dating someone and when you’re seeing someone.

I asked her, are you spending time with anyone else? No she said.

Then, I said, are you not then seeing this guy by your very own definition?

I mean, they’ve gone out on three dates. What’s the line between dating and seeing?

I know, I’ve been married a long time, so I’m out of the scene, and not that I plan to get back into the scene anytime soon, but being into words, the concept just intrigues me.

So, I did a little informal survey…and as I thought, there is a fine line between dating someone and seeing someone.

And the line is drawn skin deep. If you know what I mean.

Oh, and by the way, my friend is now seeing the guy she was dating.

I’m Marla. Thanks for listening. See ya

2 responses to “See who you are Dating

  1. madelinelaughs October 16, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    Great post as always! Have you checked out Spread Information’s latest project Marla? Here’s the link. Check out the latest posts and give us your feedback on the story so far. We think you’ll be intrigued 🙂

    http://spreadinformation.wordpress.com/2011/10/10/touched-by-insanity/

    Hugs,
    Madeline Laughs

Leave a Reply

