Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Back in the Day

Hi. I’m Marla. Gimme a Minute. I wanna talk to you about back in the day.

First of all, back in the day, it no one really said, back in the day.

I never heard that expression come out of my parents’ mouths. They would said “in my day. Blah blah blah.”

Nowadays, we are inundated with references to, back in the day. After a quick search, I found an early reference to “back in the day”, way back in the day of 1998 .

After a more thorough search, I found a SINGLE reference for Back in the day that was recorded 70 years earlier, in 1928. Now THAT is back in the day. A story from one’s personal history CAN start with “back in the day.”

Back in the day CAN refer to something that happened less than 25 years ago. Like talking about life back in the day, while you’re at your ten year high school reunion. Or if you’re talking about life before marriage, before kids, and before you had to color your hair every six weeks.

I was with a few women friends recently, the youngest one in the group started off a story with “back in the day.”

She’s barely been alive 25 years!! Really?

In my opinion, not everyone can carry off a “back in the day reference.”

For example. If I’m old enough to be your mother, you can’t tell me a story that starts with “back in the day.”

It just isn’t done.

At least, not in my day.

I’m Marla. Thanks for listening. See ya.

One response to “Back in the Day

  1. Pingback: The Reunion » Suburban Insanity

Leave a Reply

