Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Nothing


Hi. I’m Marla.  Gimme a Minute.  I wanna talk to you about nothing. 

You know, as in, I’ve got nothing.  Nothing is what comes to mind when I need to think of something to say or write or do.  I feel like my head, at least the creative part of my brain, is on hiatus, and all I can come up with is “I got nothing”   And then the pressure surmounts as my time to come up with something is taken over by the fact that I still have, well, nothing.

This happens to me more often than not, when I’m tired, or stressed or overworked or just, well, even occasionally awake.  Trying to respond to a clever snipe with a more clever comeback, or, to a heartfelt problem or concern with something thoughtful and helpful, there are some times all I can say is “I got nothing…”  Or needing to show up prepared to record a Minute here in the studio and I sit staring at my computer screen for what seems like days, and all I can type is “I got nothing.”

This week, for example, I put out a request for help to my network of friends, some of whom are also writers.  The responses were overwhelming.  Well, in truth, four people responded.  It was suggested I do laundry, read Shakespeare, watch YouTube videos, and my favorite suggestion of all…clean the toilet.

Really?  I’m a little surprised that some of you think those activities will stir up my juices…I still have nothing.

I’m Marla.  Thanks for listening.  To nothing.  See ya.

One response to “Nothing

  1. Lillia Mceachin November 15, 2011 at 3:32 am

    Yay google is my king helped me to locate this wonderful internet web site ! .

Leave a Reply

