Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Halloween

Hi. I’m Marla. Gimme a Minute. I want to talk to you about Halloween.

I know there are lots of angles I could take here, but I’m talking about the dressing up in scary or not so scary costumes and going door to door to get candy.
I live on a street where we only get destination trick or treaters. That’s when your friend’s schlep their kids over so you can see how cute they look and you have to have candy for Mom AND Dad AND the kid.

Every year I buy two or three bags of prime candy, anticipating a rapid succession of doorbells ringing, cute little ones in full regalia, and loud excited announcements of “trick or treat” as I open the door.
Here’s what I want to know.. when does it end? When can I give up this charade?
When do I get to stop buying candy with the pretense of handing it out?
Every year it’s the same. If I’m lucky, over the course of the night, from about 5pm till about 8, my doorbell might ring about ten times. I don’t understand it. I’m ready. My porch light is on. I’ve put out candles. I’ve got candy.
And tell me this? When is someone too old to trick or treat? I say it’s about the time they can drive themselves to Value Village to put together their costume.
At the end of the night, I probably have about as much candy left as I’ve handed out. And there is such thing as too much chocolate. Yeah, right.
I’m Marla. Thanks for listening. See ya!

2 responses to “Halloween

  1. Pingback: Two Months of Unlimited Gym Access | 4 Real Cheap

  2. Pingback: A Trick and A Treat On Trick Or Treat | Bloggo Schloggo

Leave a Reply

