Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Deprivation

Hi. I’m Marla.  Gimme a Minute.  I want to talk to you about deprivation.  I’ve spent the last three months changing my eating and drinking habits.

Not a diet…you know how I feel about those nasty things, but really paying attention to the foods and beverages I consume, that inevitably end up on my thighs.

There were a few reasons…  I felt like crap and I was really uncomfortable in my own skin.  Now, I can say yes, I feel better.  And surprisingly Yes I have lost a few pounds.  Yes. Yes. Yes.  But.

And yes, there’s still some butt there….

I’ve tried really hard to keep from depriving myself on a crazed maniacal level.  I ate a bit of cake at a friend’s wedding.  Luckily it was lemon cake and one bite was enough.

There have been a handful of evenings when a single glass of wine was greatly enjoyed, where otherwise a diet cola would do.

But here’s the catch.  I’m going on a one week vacation that’s bound to be filled with all kinds of bread and booze. Right now my tolerance for alcohol is about half a glass of wine anyway.  In addition to which I’ve sort of fallen out of like with my old ways of eating and drinking.

I don’t have any problems hanging out with friends while they consume copious amounts of food and drink….

So I’ll probably do the same as I’ve been doing, knowing what I know, and trusting that they won’t care what I eat or drink.

I’m  Marla. Thanks for listening.  See ya.

Leave a Reply

