Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Insomnia

Hi I’m Marla.  I wanna talk to you about sleeping.  Or not.  Why is it that when I’m working, doing laundry, exercising or doing anything other than sleeping, all I can think about is getting some shut eye.  Just hitting the pillow, hitting it hard, curling up with a fuzzy fleece and taking a nice long nap.

Then finally, night comes at the end of that long day, and I finally get into bed, close my eyes, and fall asleep for what seems like days, only to wake up three or four hours later, completely unable to fall back to sleep.

I occasionally, ok, well, usually, check facebook to see who else is awake at such an ungodly hour.  I’m rarely alone.  At least three other women friends can almost always be found on line, all of us complaining how we aren’t asleep, and don’t we wish we were asleep, and complaining how we never get enough sleep.

Then one by one, the women drop off…I’m guessing to give sleep another try.

Eventually, finally,  I too head back to bed.

It’s now between 4 and 6 am, and my alarm is set to go off at 7.  You know what that means, right?  The moment my alarm sounds, is when I’ve found the deepest sleep possible, and all I can think about is staying in bed all day and sleeping.

But I don’t want to waste one minute of this beautiful day.

Oh, hell, I ‘ll just hit the snooze button once.  Or twice.

I’m Marla.  Thanks for Listening.  See ya.

Leave a Reply

