Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

My Name is Marla

Hi.  I’m Marla. Gimme a Minute.  I wanna talk to you about my name.  Marla.  Not Maria.  My name is Mar La. I think some people must be lazy readers or something.

I get junk mail, and email directed to Maria. I’m pretty sure I did not accidentally spell my first name with an “I”.  It’s an “L” people!!  Now I know some lovely women named Maria, so it’s not the name that makes me nuts, it’s just that my name is Marla.

When I answer the phone at work I say…. Hi this is Marla can I help you? .. I know it’s quick, but it’s friendly right? About half the time, the response I get starts off “yes Monica I need blah blah blah.”  And I say blah blah blah because once they’ve called me Monica, I’ve pretty much stopped listening.

My name is Marla. I have a few friends named Anndrea.  And, a couple who go by Onndrea. I have at least two friends named AnnDraya.  And one who calls herself OnnDraya.

This is way more confusing.  I’m sure it’s frustrating to them when I mispronounce their name.  And it’s not that I’m not paying attention, I just forget which is which…Anndrea, Onndrea, Anndraya or Onndraya.

It’s to the point where I try to be the second person in the room to use their name.  Then I watch my friend’s face for the p-o-ed..you-got-my-name-wrong flinch.  ….Seriously….if you spelled them differently, it might help.

Hey, I know….spell it with an “I” …

My name is Marla.  Thanks for listening.  See ya.

Leave a Reply

