Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Talking to Strangers

Hi.  I’m Marla.  Gimme a Minute.  No really, I’m only going to take a minute .  I want to talk to you about talking to strangers.  Not just saying hi, how are you, but giving unsolicited advice.  This topic came up when I was with two men friends who freely admitted to sporting a comb-over in their younger, “I’m going to pretend I still have hair on the top of my head” days.  They both told me that they didn’t realize it looked bad until a friend took a chance at hurting their feelings.  And these guys were grateful.

I wonder if they would have been ok to hear that information from a stranger.  Who is supposed to tell someone when their socks don’t match, or they forgot to zip their pants, or their slip is showing, or their skirt is stuck in their panty hose,  or their panty hose has a run, or they have a tag hanging out on their collar, or spinach in their teeth, or lipstick on their teeth, or something hanging from their nose.

For all you or I know, they’re dressed that way on purpose to get attention, or their personal hygiene is a larger issue for them than you or I could possibly be aware.

I say, unless it’s a friend, or whatever clothing or hygiene issue is potentially dangerous to themselves or others, look the other way.  If they’re truly a stranger to you, they don’t care what you see or think anyway.

Hey, your shoe’s untied.

I’m Marla.  Thanks for listening.  See ya!

One response to “Talking to Strangers

  1. Pingback: Homepage

Leave a Reply

