Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Job Interviews and First Dates

Hi. I’m Marla. Gimme a Minute. Really, I’m only gonna take a minute. I want to talk to you about First dates and Job Interviews.

I recently became gainfully unemployed. I am now in the unfortunate situation of applying for and going out on job interviews.

I think the Job hunting process is alot like dating. Let’s just skip over the horrendous application process. Hundreds of people all applying for the same job. Like a single woman in San Francisco’s Castro District looking for Mr. Right.

Assuming I get an interview, not unlike a first date, there is the awkward tell me about yourself, your education, your job history. Why do you think you and I (the company) would be a good match?

Where do you see yourself in a year, five years, ten years? Do you have (or want) kids.

I know this last question is supposed to be illegal, but in the forum of first date/small talk chit chat, many employers still get away with it.

And what about me? What about my needs? What kind of person is this employer? Are they a black sucking vortex of need or collaborative and supportive. If I accept the job, I get there is no ring and a house in the suburbs. When I have worked for you for a while, and my life starts to show its age, will you replace me with someone younger?

I have a little cushion of time to look. I applied for unemployment. The weather outside is improving. And I want this time to be forever. Suddenly unemployed doesn’t seem so bad.

I’m Marla. Thanks for listening. See ya.

Leave a Reply

