Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Facebook Etiquette – Friending

Hi.  I’m Marla.  Gimme a Minute.  Really, I’m only going to take a minute.  This is one of four segments about Facebook etiquette.  Today I want to talk to you about Facebook Friending Etiquette.  

If you’ve had a facebook account for longer than ten minutes, this has probably happened to you. Someone on your friend list suggests you become a facebook friend with someone else. Or, that someone else requests to become your friend. You do have options. The first is, of course, you accept this person. Everyone is happy and sleeps well that night. 

But what if, awkward, you don’t want to add this person. What if they annoy you, or you only opened this account under pressure, or maybe you think you have enough friends. 

Happy day, you still have options.  You can ignore the suggestion, or ignore the request. Of course, they could try to add you again and again until you give in. 

The “politically correct” way to handle an unwanted friend request is to accept, them and then simply hide that person from your news feed and status updates. They will never know.

And I just learned that Facebook randomly decides when you have too many friends.  For some people, that’s a few thousand.  For others, it’s a few hundred.  I’m not sure how they decide that, but I’m not losing any sleep over it.  Until they tell me I have too many friends, I’ll welcome all the friends I can get.  I’m Marla.  Thanks for listening.  See ya!

Leave a comment