Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

When/How to Quit

Hi.  I’m Marla.  Gimme a Minute.  I wanna talk to you about quitting your job.

Sometimes you have to quit, like if you’re moving too far to commute to work, or going away to school.

A bad reason to quit? Pretty much any reason you’d be reluctant to put on a future job application.

The best time to quit, of course, is when you don’t need that job anymore.  Like when you become independently wealthy with a lifetime health insurance policy, or when you get hired somewhere that hopefully pays more in money, benefits or career satisfaction.

Quitting your job doesn’t have to be the end of the relationship with the people you worked with, unless you want it to be.

You know what they say about burned bridges.  You never know when a potential employer is going to want to talk to a previous employer or co-worker about you and get the scoop, as in poop.  And I live in a small town.  We have a game called 6 degrees of everyone.

I am good at that game.

I have quit plenty of jobs.  Sometimes because I moved, mostly because I moved on.  But I’m here to tell you that there are many people still in my life who I have known since my first real job.  And there are people who I pretend I have never met, much less shared an office.

No, not you.  You can use me as a reference anytime.

I’m Marla, thanks for listening, see ya.

Leave a Reply

