Marla's Gimme a Minute

I Only Need 60 Seconds!

Traffic Jams

Hi. I’m Marla. Gimme a Minute. I wanna talk to you about traffic.


I actively try to avoid traffic.

Disclaimer, where I live, traffic can be a max of five cars on the road, but still. Here’s the thing.

I like road trips. I’ll try to leave first thing in the morning, or in the middle of the night, or take the long way, to avoid traffic.

Can you tell me why it sometimes takes 12 hours for a 7 hour drive?

I’m on the freeway, going the legal speed, and all of a sudden, the road comes to a complete stand still. And all I see for miles ahead are break lights.

And the traffic moves.

And stops.

Maybe there’s an accident ahead. So I check for emergency lights. Nothing.

The cars move again.

And stop.

I’m sure it’s major construction and tons of road workers. I appreciate road workers, and the last thing I want to do is hurt someone making the road wider and safer for me. I accept my fate.

Cars go.

And stop.

And suddenly, after two hours or so of 5-10 mile per hour travel, the road magically clears.

No tell tale orange cones and barricades.

No visible signs of an earlier accident.

No broken down car on the side of the road.

Nothing.

There is a word that comes to mind when I’ve been stuck in this kind of traffic.

It’s not a nice word.

So I’ll just say I’m Marla. Thanks for listening. See ya.

2 responses to “Traffic Jams

  1. ishka bibble August 30, 2014 at 12:08 pm

    seems like you’ve been away from Northern or Southern Calif too loooonnnnnngggg. Traffic here doesn’t miraculously clear up anymore during rush hour. You have to wait until 8p or 9p then you can go (almost) unobstructed. And don’t ask me about little fender benders or holiday traffic…..remember those down here? hahahaha….5 cars…..pretty funny!

  2. ccrooksphoto August 30, 2014 at 12:24 pm

    Can sure tell you don’t live in L.A. anymore! But L.A. drivers are the best, at least in my book.

Leave a Reply

